Public Economics

Public Economics


Prof. Dr. Robert Schwager

Georg August University Göttingen

Fotograf: Alciro Theodoro da Silva (Göttingen)

Prof. Dr. Silke Übelmesser

Deputy Chairperson
Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Fotografin: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)


Annual meetings

The standing field committee public economics meets annually to discuss new research and activities of the committee.

Schmölders prize 2023 awarded to Arthur Seibold

The standing committee public economics awards the 2023 prize of the Schmölders foundation to Arthur Seibold, University of Mannheim, for his work "Reference points for retirement behavior: Evidence from German pension discontinuities".


The standing field committee public economics was founded in 1959. It has about 100 members. Its work is devoted to analyzing all aspects of public finances and public economics.